Secured Trust Escrow

City Residential Reports

Secured Trust Escrow
Secured Trust Escrow

California Residential Reports

Here is a list of California communities with ordinances requiring a pre-sale property report for you, the owner and potential future seller, or as a real estate agent. This means that before an escrow can close and a property is transferred, the city must inform the buyer of all that is listed in its records regarding the property’s status, its permits, violations, and compliance with building code laws. As we learn more, we will be continuously updating and improving the list.

City Name of Report Phone # Cost Notes
Azusa 626-812-5265 $52 – $165 All properties, including vacant land, but not on first sale. Buyer to acknowledge report, 6 month time limit. Prices subject to change every summer (updated March 8, 2012).
Bell 323-588-6211 ext. 298 $200 + $75/unit Inspection required. Seller signs form, must get signature notarized if not submitting application in person.
Belvedere (Marin County) 415-435-3838 $300 Inspector goes out to the property. Report cannot be waived. Good for 60 days. Buyer acknowledges report.
Beverly Hills 310-285-1141 n/a Buyer & Seller sign form. No inspection. Only deals with smoke detector and water conservation.
818-238-3700 n/a Water Conservation only. No inspection. Buyer & Seller sign on Certificate of Compliance.
Carpinteria (Santa Barbara County) 805-684-5405 ext. 451 $245 – $400 Inspector goes out to the property. Buyer must acknowledge report. Cannot be waived. Good for 6 months.
Carson No longer required 310-952-1766 n/a The city council of Carson repealed the requirement of a Residential Property Report effective September 20, 2019.
Cathedral City (Riverside County) 760-770-0341 call Please visit Cathedral City's website for more details.
Chico (Butte County) 530-879-6700 n/a Cost varies per each private inspector. Only mandatory on buildlings prior to 1991. Buyer doesn’t need to acknowledge. Inspectors are certified by the city. Commercial buildings don’t require it.
Compton 310-605-5509 $129 for first Single Family Dwelling, $105 for additional Inspection required. Residential Only. Buyer acknowledgement of Residential Building Report needed.
Corte Madera (Marin County) 415-927-5062 $130 Inspector doesn’t go out to the property. Cannot waive. Buyer doesn’t need to acknowledge. Commercial buildings don’t require it. It is good for 6 months.
Cudahy Pre-Inspection report 323-773-5143 $255 up to 5 units Inspection required. Pick up form at Building and Safety, pay and obtain appointment. Residential, commercial and vacant land.
Culver City 310-253-5800 $96-$128 No inspection. Need on residential & commercial properties, no vacant land. Call for application. Takes 10 business days. Buyer needs to acknowledge.
Daly City (San Mateo County) 650-991-8061 $45 Fax report. The report is computer generated. Buyer has to acknowledge the report and inspection and cannot be waived. The report is good for 6 months.
Del Rey Oaks (Monterey County) 831-394-8511 $100 See website for Information. Physical inspection required. Property owner must acknowledge report. Report cannot be waived. Commercial buildings have a separate report.
Eastvale (Riverside County) 951-361-0900 $46.00 annual fee For businesses and rental properties. No physical inspection is required at this time. Annual term from April 1 – March 31.
El Monte 626-580-2050 $195.50-$252.50+ Inspection required. Residential and commercial properties. Call for an application form. Buyer acknowledgement needed.
El Segundo None now, pursuant to Building Dept. 310-524-2380 n/a None
Gardena 310-217-9530 $435 for exterior inspection. $552 for exterior and interior inspection. Report to be delivered 15 days prior to closing. Residential and commercial. Condos are exempt. Buyer can sign a Waiver. Buyer must acknowledge either the report or the Waiver.
Hawaiian Gardens 562-420-2641 $265 Inspection required. Residential and commercial properties. New construction exempt. Deliver 21 days before closing, Buyer to acknowledge.
Hermosa Beach 310-318-0235 $263.00 Residential only. Takes 2 weeks to process. Exterior inspection only. Good for 6 months
Huntington Park 323-584-6271 $105 for exterior inspection, $60 for interior inspection. Inspection required. Single family 1-4 units and vacant land required. No commercial or over 4 units. Good for 6 months.
Inglewood 310-412-5294 $163 (up to 4 units) + $11/unit (after 4 units) Additional fees apply for inspection. Full breakdown on their website. The buyer needs to acknowledge. Good for 6 months.
Laguna Beach coming soon 949-497-0714 $350 No inspection. All properties, including commercial and vacant land. Go down to Building Dept and pick up application and pay. Realtor needs to have his City Business License to show. Takes 7 days.
Lawndale 310-973-3220 $240.00 Please see Lawndale City's Page for more information.
Livermore (Alameda County) 925-960-4410 $60 No physical inspection. Buyer must acknowledge it. Cannot waive. Good for 6 months. Commercial buildings don’t require it.
Lomita 310-325-7110 $162.18 For residences with certain exceptions. Does not apply to commercial property. On-site inspection is an additional $162.18. For more information, check out the City of Lomita Community Development page.
Long Beach 562-570-6401 $105.00 for 1-2 units Inspection concerns only non-street parking at a residence/building. Certain conditions allow for the use of a Garage Exemption Certificate.
Los Angeles City 213-485-2216 $70.85 per parcel No inspection. Need on residential and vacant land. No commercial properties or first sale of new residential building. Need application form with original signatures by Seller (and Buyer if Buyer is doing work). Good for 6 months.
Los Angeles City – Dept of Water and Power 213-284-6130 $15 -$75 and up Licensed plumber to certify low flow toilets and showerheads and sign Certificate of Compliance. Seller and Buyer also to sign.
Lynwood 310-603-0220 ext. 289 $230.44 Inspection of exterior only. Residential only. Call for application form. Real Estate Agent needs to have business license for Lynwood to apply.
Malibu 310-456-2489 Please call City Website
Manhattan Beach 310-802-5546 $121.50 No inspection. Residential only. Water Conservation Retrofit required.
Marina (Monterey County) 831-884-1214 $50 See website for Information. Physical inspection required. Buyer acknowledges report. Report cannot be waived. Good for 3 months. Commercial buildings do not need.
Maywood Pre-Sale Home Inspection 323-562-5727 $110 Inspection required. Application is multiple carbon copy. Call them to mail. Buyer needs to acknowledge report and this report cannot be waived. No expiration date, good until sale of property again.Whoever is applying for report needs to have a Business License with City.
Monterey Park None n/a n/a n/a
Monterey (Monterey County) Residential Property Report 831-646-3890 n/a Report Faxed. Exterior inspection only. Buyer acknowledges report. Report cannot be waived. Good for 6 months. No requirement for condominiums, but apartments do require.
Newport Beach 949-644-3291 $156 – 182 and up Residential only. Inspection not required, but if declined, will be noted on report for Buyer to acknowledge. Takes 30 days to complete after application submitted. Corrections to be done within 30 days or Buyer can assume responsibility. Good for one year.
Oakland (Alameda County) 510-238-3199 $84.92 as of March 24, 2021 Applies to selling, buying, or renovating of properties above $100,000. Full details in their FAQ page
Orange (Orange County) Not anymore n/a n/a n/a
Oxnard (Ventura County) 805-385-7840 $37.80 Inspection not required. Residential and commercial. Buyer to acknowlege. Takes 7 days to process. Good for 6 months. Call Patricia or Ruby for fax or e-mail of application.
Palos Verdes Estates 310-378-0383 $113 Inspection not needed. Takes 5 working days. Good for 6 months. Homeowner applies. If third party applies, needs a City Business License in order to apply.
Pasadena 626-744-7144 $27.78 - $150.38 Inspection required and cannot be waived. Single family, duplex, condos, townhouses. Please see webpage for more information.
Piedmont (Alameda County) Housing Records Search 510-420-3050 $50 No physical inspection. Report cannot be waived. Buyer doesn’t need to acknowledge it. Commercial buildings require the same report.
Port Hueneme (Ventura County) Residential & Commercial Building Records 805-986-6500 $43-$107 Has option of report only or report and inspection. Required for residential and commercial. Buyer can waive with signature on waiver and sent to Building and Safety. Can obtain a supplement to original report that was obtained 6 months prior. No application online. Call for application.
Rancho Palos Verdes 310-265-7800 Please call Only deals with smoke detector and water conservation.
Redondo Beach 310-318-0636 $125.00 effective August 1, 2019 Updated information about ordering the Residential Report on website. Please review to prevent delays in processing.
Rialto 909-820-2546 Please call Go to Rialto's city Website and search Water Sewer Payment Guidelines
Rolling Hills Estates 310-377-1577 $200-$300 Residential only. Buyer can choose a record search only or with an on-site inspection. Buyer to complete application. Takes 7 business days. Must have to close.
Ross (Marin County) Residential Report 415-453-1453 ext.106 $325 + $100 each add. unit Physical inspection required. Business license is required for businesses, which costs $100. Buyer must acknowledge report. Cannot be waived. Also required for commercial buildings. Good for 12 months. Go to Building Dept to get application
Salinas (Monterey County) 831-758-7241 Call Report Faxed. No physical inspection required. Buyer acknowledges report. Report cannot be waived. Good for 90 days.
San Diego (San Diego County) 619-533-7485 $10 Seller must ensure water-conserving plumbing fixtures are in place. Seller may transfer responsibility to the buyer via a Transfer of Responsibility to Retrofit Certificate. More information on their resource page.
San Fernando Residential Inspection Upon Resale 818-898-1227 $240.00 Inspection required. Call or visit their office for an application. More information can be found on their Building and Safety page.
San Francisco 415-558-3300 (Fire Dept) $330 + $344/year Residential only. Check if property contains stationary tank, if there is a cap on sidewalk or a generator for above ground or portables. Buyer must apply. There is a one time cost of $330 and a yearly tax license of $344, paid through Tax Collector. Fire Dept will inspect tanks yearly.
San Francisco 415-558-6220 Call Residential only. Energy Conservation required only once in lifetime of home and will be noted on the 3R report. The water conservation is required each time of transfer. Go to website to find City approved inspectors. Inspector normally charges flat fee for all inspections and filing fees.
San Francisco 415-558-6080 $148 Residential only. City does not inspect, but needs to get a licensed contractor to do so. Valid for one year. Buyer does not need to sign off. Each building needs its own application.
San Luis Obispo 805-781-7215 Call Required prior to sale. Inspection by licensed contractor or Water Resources staff member.
San Marino Residential Compliance Certificate 626-300-0700 $140.00 Residential only. Inspection fee separate. Apply in person, they will provide list of individuals or firms allowed to do inspection. Report cannot be waived. Buyer not required to acknowledge report. All violations must be corrected within 6 months. Takes 10 business days. Good 2 years or when sold.
San Pablo (Contra Costa County) 510-215-3030 $125 (condo), $175 (SFR), $25+ per/unit Physical Inspection required. Report cannot be waived. Good for 6 months. Commercial buildings not required. Buyer does not need to acknowledge.
Santa Monica 310-458-8355 $330.44 Inspections not required. Computer generated report. Can fill it out online. Cannot be waived. Buyer must acknowledge. Good for 6 months. Look for application form under “Forms – Public Records – Public Records Request”.
Sausalito (Marin County) 415-289-4128 $150 No physical inspection. Report cannot be waived. Buyer doesn’t need to acknowledge. Needs a sewer video it doesn’t have one within last 3 years. Go to Building Dept to get application.
Seaside (Monterey County) 831-899-6736 $129 Report emailed. Exterior inspection only. Must have every time the property transfers. Cannot be waived.
Signal Hill 562-989-7348 $170-565 Only for 4 units and up residential properties. Valid for 6 months. Buyer does not need to acknowledge.
South Gate 323-563-9500 $63 Inspection required. Residential only or residential in mixed use units. Code violations to be corrected within a year by Seller or Buyer. Buyer to acknowledge. Report is good for one year.
Thousand Oaks (Ventura County) 805-449-2500 $82- $308 Inspections required only if there are open permits, cost is then $308. No inspection cost is $82. Good for 6 months. Takes up to 10 working days to get.
Torrance 310-781-7635 Building and Safety Dept. Call No property inspection. Only review permits on file. Buyer to acknowledge.
Ventura (Ventura County) 805-654-7874 $79.00 No property inspection. Only review permits on file. Buyer to acknowledge.

Residential Escrow

Gain the confidence you need that your residential escrow transaction will be handled professionally. Contact us.

Business Escrow

At Secured Trust Escrow, your Escrow Officer will carefully handle your business transaction. Get started today.

Commercial Escrow

Secured Trust Escrow recognizes the unique requirements for handling commercial escrow transactions.

Our Skills

What We're Good At.

Business Escrows
Commercial Escrows
Real Estate Escrows
Happy Clients

What Our Clients Say About Us.

“The team was amazing all the times I called into customer support. Very short or no wait times. Will definitely use you in the future.”

“I called Sally today a few times and she helped me get everything resolved and walked me through everything on the phone. Great work.”

“All along I felt the support was good. I always got a quick response from you. The service from you guys is very good. I’ll be back.”

Click Here To Call